Alabama Cottage Food Law
The Alabama Cottage Food Law went into effect in 2014 and provides guidance and information for cottage food entrepreneurs. The law states that individuals can produce certain nonhazardous foods in their homes. As part of the law, individuals who wish to sell these products are required to complete a food safety course designed specifically for the cottage foods industry.
A new Cottage Food law will go into effect August 1, 2021. Alabama Extension is waiting for the Alabama Department of Public Health to provide requirements for this new law. If you plan to produce and sell products between now and July 31, 2021, you must still have this certification. At this time, it is not known if this certification will last past August 1, 2021.
The course and exam are now available online. Registrant will need to watch four videos as part of the course requirements. Resources are available to assist in preparation of the exam. Step by step instructions are provided below. Additionally, the Cottage Food Law Course will be offered an in person classes on a limited basis. Find links to those in person classes below.
After watching the videos, you can register to take the online exam. A Regional Agent will contact you within 2 business days to schedule a date and time convenient for you to take the exam online. Please allow 7-10 business days to receive your certificate. A non-refundable registration fee is $25.
Want to start a Cottage Food Law Business?
Step 1: How do I take the course? Watch the four Cottage Law videos.
Introduction to Cottage Food Law
Step 2: Watched all four videos? Register for the exam. Fee is $25.
Step 3: Your regional agent will contact you within 2 business days to schedule an exam date and time.
Step 4: The registrant will take the exam online. Electronic device will be required. Please tell your regional agent if you need another type of testing format.
Step 5: Certificate will be received via mail in 7-10 business days.
Need More Information?