2 min read
paper that reads tax extension on a desktop; tax deadline extended for disaster counties in Alabama

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced that disaster-area taxpayers in parts of Alabama now have until October 16, 2023 to file various federal individual and business tax returns and make tax payments. Eligible taxpayers will also have until Oct. 16 to make 2022 contributions to their individual retirement accounts (IRA) and health savings accounts. Disaster-affected taxpayers in designated areas automatically qualify for the extension. There is no need to file any extension paperwork or contact the IRS to qualify for extended time.

Who has tax extensions?

Affected taxpayers include the following:

  • Individuals
  • Any business entity or sole proprietor
  • Any shareholder in an S Corporation

Designated areas include the following:

  • Autauga County
  • Coosa County
  • Dallas County
  • Elmore County
  • Greene County
  • Hale County
  • Mobile County
  • Morgan County
  • Sumter County
  • Tallapoosa County

Filing and Payment Extensions

Filing and payments extended to October 16, 2023 include calendar-year 2022 individual and business returns.

  • Individual income tax returns, originally due on April 18
  • Various business returns, normally due on March 15 and April 18
  • Returns of tax-exempt organizations, normally due on May 15
  • Farmers who forgo making estimated tax payments, normally due on March 1
  • Estimated tax payment for the fourth quarter of 2022, originally due on January 17, 2023
  • Quarterly payroll and excise tax returns normally due on January 31, April 30 and July 31

If the taxpayers IRS address of record is located in a designated disaster area the IRS will automatically give relief on filing deadline and penalty. Some taxpayers who live outside the designated disaster area may need records from a locality within a designated disaster area in order to meet a tax filing deadline. These taxpayers also qualify for the extension. Additionally, workers affiliated with a recognized government or philanthropic organization and who assist in the disaster relief activities are eligible for extension. Taxpayers who live outside the disaster area or work for an eligible organization need to contact the IRS at 866-562-5227 to request an extension.

Any taxpayer who receive a penalty notice but believe they qualify for the disaster-related extension should call the number on the notice to have the penalty abated.

More Information

For more information on designated areas see https://www.fema.gov/disaster/4684/designated-areas. More on this and other FEMA disaster responses is available on the disaster relief page on IRS.gov or visit disasterassistance.gov.