To contact us:

Alabama Cooperative Extension System
Urban Affairs & New
Nontraditional Programs
Dr. Julio E. Correa,
Extension Animal Scientist
Alabama A&M University
P.O. Box 967
Normal, AL 35762

Phone: 256-372-4173
Fax: 256-372-5840

Documents published by the Alabama Cooperative Extension System (ACES) are designated as such and are produced in cooperation with a subject matter specialist. Non-ACES documents are available via links to other sites. Comments regarding any documents not produced locally should be directed to their respective authors.


Alabama Ethnic Food Security Network

AEFSN Network Governance

The AEFSN is a partnership between the Alabama Cooperative Extension System (ACES) and the College of Agricultural, Life and Natural Sciences (CALNS) of the Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University (AAMU) that meets the outreach and research needs of the state in the area of food security.

Membership: The AEFSN consists of professional staff of ACES and AAMU's CALNS. Network members design and implement programs within their specific areas of expertise. County members can call upon area, district, and state Extension specialists and AAMU research faculty who develop research-based information to help Alabama farmers, processors, and consumers solve problems, manage resources effectively and efficiently, and improve eating habits and nutritional status.

A minimum of one meeting of the membership shall be conducted annually. The meeting will provide a session(s) for individual specialists and researchers to update the entire membership on their outreach and research programs. Stimulating discussion shall be encouraged to provide positive member interactions.

Administrative Management Committee: The Administrative Management Committee consists of ACES directors, the 1890 administrator, and the dean and research director from the CALNS or an administrative designee.

Executive Committee: The Executive Committee consists of three members from each of the partner units. Each year, the Administrative Management Committee will appoint three members to serve a one-year term and three members to serve a two-year term, all from the at-large membership. There will be no term limits imposed on Executive Committee members if reappointed for subsequent two-year terms by the Administrative Management Committee. In making appointment to the Executive Committee, the Administrative Management Committee shall ensure that at least two Executive Committee members have Extension as their primary appointment and at least two Executive Committee members have research as their primary appointment. The Executive Committee shall meet a minimum of once quarterly to discuss the business of the partnership and to plan, coordinate and organize partnership functions. Meetings may consist of teleconferences, video conferences, and face-to-face functions. A minimum of one face-to-face meeting must be conducted annually.

Executive Committee Officers: The leadership within the Executive Committee shall consist of three positions: a chairperson, chairperson elect, and a secretary.

Industry Advisory Committee: The Industry Advisory Committee will consist of farmers and marketers involved in the production and marketing of a number of ethnic foods such as goat, lamb, cilantro, tomatillo, Caribbean pumpkin, peppers, eggplant, and others. The Industry Advisory Committee will consist of a minimum of five and maximum of nine individuals deriving a portion or all of their income from the production and marketing of multicultural meats and vegetables. Each Industry Advisory Committee member will be appointed by the Executive Committee annually. There will be no term limits on an individual serving on this advisory committee. The Industry Advisory Committee will be invited to a minimum of one meeting annually to provide them with an update on partnership activities and to solicit input on industry needs.