2 min read
Dr. Angela Williams with AAMU's Interim Extension Director Dr. Majed Dweik.

ALABAMA A&M UNIVERSITY, Ala.—Recognizing visionary leadership and diversity in educational programming, the United States Department of Agriculture’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and Cooperative Extension announced the 2022 top honors in Extension Excellence and Diversity at APLU’s Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado earlier this month.

“Congratulations to the outstanding Extension professionals who were honored,” said Beverly Durgan, chair of the Extension committee on organization and policy and dean of Extension at the University of Minnesota. “These leaders are making a difference by connecting community needs and university resources to address critical issues across the nation.”

1890s Region Award

Among the awards, the Regional Individual Extension Professionals Award recognizes professionals for their excellence. This year the 1890s Region Award was awarded to Angela Williams, a 4-H youth development specialist with the Alabama Cooperative Extension System at Alabama A&M University (AAMU). Williams was

Dr. Angela Williams with AAMU's Interim Extension Director Dr. Majed Dweik.

Angela Williams with AAMU’s Interim Extension Director, Majed Dweik.

honored for her exemplary leadership, community outreach\ and positive impact on underserved youth. Throughout the years, she has used her leadership capabilities to reach more than 700 incarcerated youth, ensuring that nearly 70% completed their GED at a local community college.

“Congratulations to Dr. Williams on being recognized for her exceptional work with Alabama Extension at Alabama A&M University,” said interim Extension Director and AAMU Vice President of Research & Economic Development, Majed Dweik. “This award embodies the spirit of what AAMU highly regards – service, especially to the people and communities of Alabama.”

Other Region Award Winners

 Other 2022 region award winners included:

  • North Central Region: Christian E. Butzke, Extension enologist and professor, Purdue University, for exceptional national Extension leadership serving the wine industry.
  • Northeast Region: Nila S. Cobb, associate professor, West Virginia University, for exemplary commitments to effective engagement of underserved youth and families to help them thrive.
  • Southern Region: Paul R. Fisher, professor and Extension specialist, University of Florida, for excellence in providing science-based Extension education on controlled environment horticulture.

Congratulations to all 2022 Excellence in Extension Award winners.

For More Information

Visit www.aces.edu/urban to learn more about 4-H and other Alabama Extension programs at AAMU.

Did you find this helpful?